Seed Pods

Valdese, NC(Zone 7a)

I have a TB that I forgot to cut the stalks down on. There were three that had stalks that I didn't remove. Well, Made of Magic has one seed pod on it. It may be a false pod. If it isn't than likely bees or some insect pollinated it. This is my first year with my TB. I know that you leave the seed pod to dry, and it will split when ready to collect seeds.

Is it true that self-pollinated seed pods never grow true to the cultivator? That two seeds will not be alike?

What does everyone do with the seeds once they have them?

Boise, ID(Zone 5b)

You can grow them and see what you get or throw them away.

No use saving them unless you grow them or can give them to someone who will grow them.

It's kinda fun to see what grows but don't expect too much.

Loreli

Fort Worth, TX(Zone 8a)

Flower_addictnc

Here's a link with some info about growing bearded iris seeds. There are many beautiful irises that were the result of a bee pod or lost parentage. I encourage you to plant and see what you get.

Regardless of the means of pollination, each and every seed from a pod will produce a unique plant, no two will be alike. Some may resemble one, or both parents, or be totally different. Seeds will not produce a plant true to the cultivar, even if self pollinated.

http://leticia.smugmug.com/Flowers/Iris-Hybridizing/1222403_uHtX8#P-2-12

Good Luck, Dan

Gardiner, ME(Zone 5a)

Thanks Dan,
I also will keep a couple of pods when the time comes.My irises are still blooming but I have crossed daylilies myself before and was thrilled by the outcome.Really proud of what I have accomplished.
Have you done some hybridizing with iris and how many years until they bloom ?

Gardiner, ME(Zone 5a)

OH my oh my...look at those seedpods !

Valdese, NC(Zone 7a)

Thank you very much for the information!

I will keep an eye on them for insects. I didn't think of that!