Nelly stopped growing. Can you help me?

Memphis, TN

My Nelly Moser came up well this Spring and began growing and blooming like crazy. For the last few weeks, however, she's been just sitting there at about 4 feet. No more growth and no more blooms.

Was it something I said?

Seriously, she's supple and green, getting plenty of sun with shade at her feet and I water her. This is my first year growing a Clematis and I don't know if this is "normal" for them -- or if I need to take action.

I'd appreciate any suggestions!

Woodstock Valley, CT(Zone 5b)

How old is it? Takes about 3 years to get full size I find, mine was sparce last year and doing great guns this year. I lime and feed them with orginic fertilizer twice in the spring and that seemed to help this year.

Memphis, TN

I didn't lime it. Is that something they particularly like?

I bought it last year and it got roughly this big then. I haven't clipped off any of the seed heads this year. Would that help as well?

Woodstock Valley, CT(Zone 5b)

I don't clip the seed heads...they do like more alkaline soil, so do some lime around it...might take another year to get to full size, I would not worry too much. Make sure you follow the pruning groups for it...

Memphis, TN

Pruning groups?

Willis, TX(Zone 8b)