A Southern Cottage Garden

Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

I am just beginning, but my sister's garden has been my inspiration. She and her husband have gardened for many years but only on this one for the past 10 years or so. Their 1930s era home is on three acres about 40 miles south of Atlanta. I think it is the epitome of a country cottage garden. Some photos are from 2009 when their garden was featured on their local county garden tour. I'd like to share it with you. Hope you enjoy it.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

This was one of the first heralds of spring this year, just outside the sunroom window. A Yellow Rose of Texas, I believe the botanical name is kerria japonica. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

Another early spring arrival ... daffodils and "thrift."

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

And one of the earliest signs of spring around here, dogwood trees starting to blossom.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

Pansies in an old concrete planter decorate the porch.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

More pansies greet you at the back door.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

There is a lot of whimsy in this garden. Many old birdhouses, rusty things, and, of course, a bottle tree.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

Purple irises ... a must in the cottage garden.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

Veronica surrounds an old rusty chair.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

Unnamed Austin rose behind the angel in the bird bath. The pillar on which the birdbath sits was part of a foundation pillar from a house across the street which was torn down recently. It's the perfect touch.

This message was edited May 25, 2010 11:38 AM

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

Another old birdhouse and rusty chair.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Newnan, GA(Zone 7b)

And another

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Ocean Springs, MS