Cutting Bloom stalk questions.

North Shore of L. I., NY(Zone 6b)

Is it best to wait to cut the bloom stalks until most of the iris have finished blooming? Or best to cut them back immediately after that particular iris is done? Just how far back should I cut them? Sorry for all the questions but this is my first year with iris blooms so I want to do it correctly.

I was reading on the web about how to divide iris, Not that I need to divide, just planting last year but trying to learn more. One site said the bloom stalks needed to be cut right after blooming to prevent the iris from changing color. I don't believe iris can change color but here it it copied and pasted --

'Remove bloom stalks after blooming to prevent color distortions in your blooms the following year. If you want to keep the color of the iris the same as originally purchased, bloom stalks must be removed soon after blooming.'

Don't know what to make of that strange statement.

Readyville, TN(Zone 7a)

I think that someone is misinformed - they don't change colors. However, if the iris has a seed pod and the seeds ripen and spill to the ground, the seedlings that emerge will be different than the pod parent. For this reason, some hybridizers will secure a section of pantyhose over the top of the pod to keep the seeds from reaching the ground before they can be gathered up.

I wait until pods have matured, then gather seeds, cut back the stalks, and trim foliage. In my area this happens in July.

This message was edited May 24, 2010 10:31 AM

Kansas City, MO

The only way I can interpret what that says involves alot of "ifs". If you leave on the stalk and if the stalk has a pod and if that pod matures and splits and drops seeds and if the seeds sprout then you could have an offspring that is a hybrid of the orginal cultivar and another, possibly and likely producing another color. Whew long sentence!!

K

South Hamilton, MA