Clematis ID Please (and recommendations for buying more)!

West Plains, MO(Zone 6b)

Hello! This clematis was at this house when we moved here, sticking out of the ground in the middle of nowhere in the yard (must have come up from seed??). I moved it to the garden, but I have never seen one like it - any ideas?
Also, I am looking for a deep red or maroon clematis and also a white one - I am really new to clematis, so I was wondering if all you experts had some favorites you could recommend. I saw 'Bourbon' in another thread just now, and that one is absolutely gorgeous!

Thumbnail by ericabelle
(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

My guess is that it wasn't a chance seedling but that a former owner planted the clematis there. I'll leave it to the experts to identify it.

Please check Plant Files for 'Bourbon' to see the color as it blooms for other people.

For a white I'd recommend Lanuginosa Candida but there are so many beautiful white ones:

Thumbnail by pirl
Albert Lea, MN(Zone 4b)

Looks a lot like my "The President" clem.

Charleston, SC(Zone 9a)

Elsa Spaeth is also a possibility for the clematis pictured. Attached is a picture of my Elsa.

I would also look at some of the blue/purple and red striped cultivars, checking PF for pics of how they look when grown in a variety of real conditions and whether your clematis might be one of them. The stripes (on blue/purple) are often more muted than they appear in vender pictures.

Edited to add that I believed my Elsa Spaeth was The President for years before I unearthed her tag one day to learn her true Identity.

This message was edited May 4, 2010 3:23 PM

Thumbnail by DreamOfSpring
West Plains, MO(Zone 6b)

pirl: great rec on the Lanuginosa - that is a pristine looking white!