Is This 'Watermelon'?

Alameda, CA(Zone 9b)

I obtained this, or rather the mother plant of this particular plant, from a local nursery about a year ago and have kept it going from cuttings taken in the fall. From perusing catalogs it seems to most closely resemble the variety 'Watermelon'. Is this the correct designation? This plant has been grown with northern exposure only. I've been gardening for many years now, outdoors and indoors, but have not grown many coleuses. I expect that will change.

Thumbnail by atisch
Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

NO. It looks like a Tricolor I have but dont quote me.
This is Watermelon

Thumbnail by ge1836
Alameda, CA(Zone 9b)

This picture is from the Parks Seed Co. online catalog on a plant they call Coleus "Versa Watermelon":

http://www.parkseed.com/gardening/PD/51146/

Thumbnail by atisch
Alameda, CA(Zone 9b)

Burpee's has a similar coleus simply named Coleus 'Watermelon', pictured here. I don't doubt that there are many names used for more than one variety, I would just like to know if my coleus is actually something else, and if so, what?

Thumbnail by atisch
Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

This is Glory and Watermelon.
You have hit on my favorite coleus.
Sun or shade it cant be beat.

Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

duhhhh heres the pix

Thumbnail by ge1836

ge, love those colors!!!

This message was edited Apr 24, 2010 9:09 AM

Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

Both Glory and Watermelon are great growers and perform well under stressful circumstances, like being planted outside too soon last year. Night temps on the low 40's side.I lost many because I wasnt patient.
Lesson learned.In spite of the early spring I wont put annuals out until Mem.Day.Week.

Alameda, CA(Zone 9b)