When do they come up?

Langley, WA(Zone 7b)

I left my dahlias in the ground over the winter. Someone told me that if I covered them with a plastic tarp, they wouldn't rot, so I tried that! I'm wondering when I can expect them to come up.

I planted from cuttings last year. I've been doing that for a few years with great success. I did dig down and there are tubers down there, so I know they didn't rot over the winter.

Just wondering when I can expect to see them start to come up.

Portland, OR

I just noticed some little shoots last weekend - I've been putting out slug bait for a couple of weeks to prepare for this.

I'm in Zone 8, so I might be a little ahead of you, but put your slug bait now or those little buggers will eat the shoots before you even know they are coming up.

anne

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

I have already lost a couple of sprouts (on the ones that I have temporarily growing in pots) to those critters. Yes - baiting is a must.

Portland, OR

I dug up a plant yesterday to divide for a friend, and boy, did it have a ton of little spouts coming up! I hope I didn't hurt it.....I ended up removing a lot of mushy sections... I wonder if the mushy parts would have hurt the plant if I had not removed them. I don't dig up the tubers every year, and have wondered if I should.....

Soilsandup, how long can you keep them in pots? I now have lots of extra tubers I don't know what to do with and I don't have a place to plant them right now.

thanks

anne

anne

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)