Delphinium in Tennessee

(Doug) Murfreesboro, TN

This is my first attempt at growing delphiniums. I have had trouble starting plants from seed. So my next attempt was to buy Delphinium x belladonna 'Bellamosum' plants in the fall and put them in a well prepared bed. Here you see the best example that weathered a harsh winter (harsh for the South, that is).

Thumbnail by Cibarius
(Doug) Murfreesboro, TN

I managed to start some plants of Delphinium x elata 'Magic Fountain' from seed last year. Here is a photo of one that I set out last fall. This spring I found the same plant available at a local garden center in four inch pots for only $2.50 per plant. That will be my source in future years, especially if I have to replant.

Thumbnail by Cibarius
Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

Your delphiniums are certainly healthy looking. I never have any luck with them - snails and slugs love them.

Chalfont, PA(Zone 6b)

They look great. And 2.50 per plant is a deal! I was at a local nursery yesterday, and their delphiniums were $30 a piece! I could never pay that much money for one plant. I'd be scarfing up the $2.50 ones though if I were you.

Jackson, MO(Zone 6b)

Cibarius: What zone is Muphresboro Tn. ? I'm near Cape Gir. Mo and it's zone 6. I always thought Delphiniums would not grow here because it's too humid. I really like them. Do you have much humidity? Please keep us posted on how your Delphiniums do in late summer.

Watertown, WI(Zone 5a)

I love my delphs--I seem to have no problem growing them, whether in sandy loam in part shade (my current situation) or full sun in heavy clay (my previous house). I wish I knew what I was doing right, though, so I could offer some help to folks who have trouble. I've grown nothing but delphinium elatum 'Magic Fountains,' and they've grown wonderfully.