Maltese Cross, Lychnis chalcedonica Dusky Salmon - questions

Lima, OH(Zone 5b)

I have had a number of these I grew from seed several years ago; but they do not grow fuller, having only three or four stems per plant. Is this normal? Can you transplant them?.... I do not know what the root system is and if they resent moving. THANKS

Conneaut, OH(Zone 5a)

I am new to these too.First year they were short and only a couple of flowers.Last year much taller and more flowers.This will be the third year in the ground.I did grow them from seed.I also transplanted some with no problems.I would move them now,if you are going to transplant.Edge

Southeastern, NH(Zone 5b)

I moved my regular Maltese Cross, they shouldn't be any different other than the color. The only problem is they weren't as vigorous as they would have been if I hadn't moved them, but they still grew and bloomed and came back this year. You shouldn't have a problem, just make sure you dig a little bit further out than the plant size and get the shovel down under the plant as deeply as possible, so you damage as little roots as possible. Plus make sure you water it in well and keep it watered well until it re-establishes itself. Good luck. :)

Thumbnail by Meredith79
Lima, OH(Zone 5b)

Thanks for the advise...they are moved into more sun... so far so good

How did your Dusky Salmon do after you moved them?

Athens, PA

I have found Maltese Cross easiest to move in the very early spring when you first notice it coming up.

I too have issues with MC not increasing and being a rather 'thin' plant. Last summer I started emptying out the seed pods on the ground when MC is finished flowering. I am hoping this will help to increase the number of flower stalks and bulk up this gorgeous plant.

Thumbnail by Carolyn22
Beachwood, OH