I need a recommendation for a wonderful vine!

Richmond, VA(Zone 7a)

I am very new to Dave's Gardens community and thrilled to have access to such knowledge and experience. I'm a gardener of many years in Richmond, VA and on the Northern Neck of Virginia on the Chesapeake Bay. My challenge is in Richmond, and I have attached a photo of the spot in question. I have an east-facing front porch (zone 7) with a quarry tile floor. I have positioned two terra cotta pots on the porch and have installed lattice above each, in anticipation of planting some wonderful perennial vine, which I expect to add great visual interest to the front of my 1930's English "cottagey" house. I don't want to do English ivy here, though that could probably work.

Can anyone recommend something for this spot? It gets rather hot in the afternoon. I've attached a couple of photos of the front of the house. On the right, there's a New Dawn rose, which I intend to try to train up wires so that it spills over the top of the front-projecting gable, so the vine can't be too "prissy". We'll see....fingers crossed on that one!

Thumbnail by LynnPritchard
Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Hi Lynn,
Lovely house- seems like a type of Clematis would look spectacular there, I think they do well in that zone. There are almost too many types to choose from though! http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/search.php?q=clematis&Search=Search+PlantFiles

Re the Rose, I found decorative chains very useful for training vines in areas like that.

Rj

Richmond, VA(Zone 7a)

Thanks so much, RJ....will check the link!

Norwalk, IA(Zone 5b)

Try an evergreen honeysuckle. H. Japonica blooms most of the summer and smells great.Nice thick foliage and tube shaped flowers that change from a pale greenish to gold as the flower ages. Can be trimmed too if needed. :-)

Richmond, VA(Zone 7a)