Formosan Lily Seeds

Orangeburg, SC

Can anyone tell me where to go to find info on getting these seeds to germinate? Can they be wintersown? Should they be covered, and if so how deep? As you can tell, I've never done this before. I was gifted some seeds and don't want to waste them.

Andebu, Norway

They are quite easy to germinate. You can sow them now in the best soil you`ll get, cover them about one cm and give them some sunlight. Then you`ll see them grow after a few weeks. Keep the soil moist,not wet.

Saint Bonifacius, MN(Zone 4a)

I would not recommend winter sowing. They germinate fine directly at room temperature. The will even germinate in a closed container on top of moist paper towel. But I would only do that as an experiment just to see it. Sow them in moist but excellently draining soil from a cm deep to just covering with soil. They aren't picky at all.

(dana)Owensboro, KY(Zone 6a)

mine sprouted at room temp in a few days . i soaked them for a day, dont know if that helped or not. they arnt picky i used old dirt from a dead plant in the garage lol

Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

I have germinated them indoors under shop lights. Formosanum is so rewarding because it germinates very quickly. I do this every year. If, when you say "winter sow" you mean outside, then it will not work. But if you can provide an indoor environment under, say, shop light, it works. I agree with Leftwood about temperature and Grapus about depth. I get my best results in terms of depth by sowing them a bit sideways so that the embryo in the center is buried but the outer transparent sections are partially exposed.

I used seed starting mix (which has no nutrients, which is consistent with Iris' experience) indoors in January and barely covered them. Here is what they looked like the following July. My only concern is that you may not be starting them early enough for outdoor bloom before frost. But then you are in South Carolina.This is a formosanum/longiflorum cross.