New poo 2010!!

Kennewick, WA

Each year, as soon as the soil is workable, I start looking for people cleaning out barns. Last year I hit the jackpot and a fellow one street over had four years of horse and cow manure- already aged. He *delivered* for free on his flatbed trailer. Four trailers full- lots of unloading, sore muscles, and SUPER gardens.

This year I have only picked up one load of aged horse manure so far. In an hour I am going to get a load of goat manure, which I have never used before.

What is your favorite manure for the garden?

Thumbnail by ultasol
Milford, CT(Zone 6a)

My favorite is whatever I can get.. nice looking load!!
horses and chickens are available 'round here
I love manure.. but the jokes just keep coming.
-joe-

Kennewick, WA

I know! We're on the second load of goat manure and my husband hasn't stopped cracking jokes about me and my loads of manure.
The goat manure is fresh and hot. I think I prefer the horse thus far.

Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

Some people are just lucky!

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

Wow, you really did hit the Motherload!

St. Louis County, MO(Zone 5a)

I like bunny because I can use it right away but take all the poop I can get :D

Kennewick, WA

I wish I ahd a good source of rabbit manure around here. That stuff is GOLD.

The goat manure is good, but is HOT, so it's being used on some currently unused space that is being turned into pasture this summer.

I found my bunny poop by putting an ad in craiglists. I had some funny responses but was contacted by a rabbit rescue place that was more than happy to let me pick up their trash. A different sort of "trash to treasure"

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

Aged horse would be the nicest. One street over--jackpot!
Llama is available to me- I'm told it can be used fresh too. Its like big pellets. I should look up a local goat rescue and help clean there. I'd probably come home with a goat though.

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)