Need help with Crimson Queen trunk damage.

Schaumburg, IL

Can anyone tell me what to do or what happened to the trunk on my Crimson Queen? It looks like the outer bark peeled back and left the inside exposed. It is on the north side of the tree and it wasn't chewed on by any animal.

I am new to growing Japanese Maples. I live in Illinois (zone 5) and this happened in the spring. It started out only being 1 inch long but is now about 8 inches. Thr tree was sheltered with burlap over the winter and bloomed beautifully all year long. I also sheltered it this winter and am awaiting spring to see if it survived.

I complained to the nursery where I bought it and they gave me an extended guarantee till the spring. However, they don't act like they will replace it, and if it doesn't die completely I think that I am going to have a hard time returning it. With my luck it will make it through the winter and die in the summer.

Any ideas?

Thumbnail by JAPMAPLE
Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)

japmaple the picture is pretty blurry - looks like the bark split and seems to be growing back although hard to tell - it could be fine as long as it is a split and not a crack deeper in the trunk - how much bark is connected from top to bottom?

Springfield, IL(Zone 6a)

Ok firstly we need a timeline and other info .

1. when tree was bought year and month
When did you notice it
2. how big was the tree
3. did you inspect the trunk carefully or did and the branches with leaves cover it

Once we we get this info we can give you a better idea .

bark split like that is not likely aninmal or insect damage . there are two basic causes