Newbie Question about Amaryliss

Phoenix, AZ

Hi all, I've heard some say that its not wise to buy bulbs that have already sprouted or in the case of the Amaryliss, began flowering in the box. I'm new to the bulb world but IMH(laywoman's)O it would make sense that you'd want to know that the bulb is alive. And If its showing green that means it alive. ? Some sagely knowledge is appreciated thanks!

Panama City, FL(Zone 8b)

I have bought a lot of amaryllis that are sprouting or starting to bloom in the box if I can get them at a discount (Lowes is a great place for bargains of this type). You may not get the best blooms the first year, but if given good care they will continue to grow and bloom for many years to come.

Cramlington, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

Yes I've heard this too. If the bulbs are on clearance I'd say give it a go! They may not perform well for a year or two, but if you feed them up they will probably recover.

Marietta, OH(Zone 6a)

I've bought reduced ones at Lowe's, Home Depot, and even Walmart that were sprouting in the boxes, they produced beautiful blooms the first year and the last couple years. They bloomed their little hearts out for months.... Out of about 6, only 2 are slow growers, so far, but are firm and green with lots of roots. Of course, the only thing is you can't be sure of the variety as they aren't labeled like what you would buy from a supplier, but it's always fun to get with the others here and try to guess which one it is! The one pictured is the first one I rescued from HD, also have solid red ones from my Mom that look alot like Red Lion. I haven't purchased any white ones, just the reds.
Mine cost $2.50 and $3, so for a little investment, you get a lot of fun!

Thumbnail by Kizmo
Tolleson, AZ(Zone 9a)

meisgreen I think you will be fine buying bulbs that have already bloomed or sprouted in the box. I love finding bulbs on clearance. Unless a bulb is squishy ( is that even a word?)
it is probably still good.

Phoenix, AZ