Citrus

Raleigh, NC

I'm a composting novice. Been chucking all our kitchen waste (not dairy or meat or grease) in the bin.

someone just mentioned to me no citrus either. Gee, really? we always have a very clementines this time of year go bad before they can be eaten. and orange and grapefruit peels, lemon slices after they've been in my tea, etc.

Portland, OR

I compost everything, including citrus. Never had a problem. Maybe because of the size of my pile and that it is pretty hot, don't know. If you have a hot pile, I think you should be ok.

One thing that I know for sure. Composting in a pile on the ground (can be surrounded by something for asthetics) is much better than composting in a bin. Much easier for the microorganisms in the ground and worms to access the pile and break it down and the open air is good for it too.

However, I know this isn't an option for everyone, just saying though.

Raleigh, NC

was thinking about creating a pile. have 4 bins now.

Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

I just toss my orange and lemon peels into my compost bins--they always break down eventually. They might take a bit longer (depending on whether I've cut them up into pieces) but in the end, everything rots.
I have heard that you shouldn't put many citrus peels into vermicompost bins.

Deep South Coastal, TX(Zone 10a)

We have grapefruit orchards so lots of citrus goes in our compost pile but our neighbor said it's a no no. I haven't had any trouble with it. I figured it would make it more acidic which my garden needs anyway.

Raleigh, NC

ah, well, my garden needs less acid.

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

At one time, there was concern that oak leaves made compost acidic. Lately I read that when the compost is all done it will be neutral--I expect the same is true with typical homeowner citrus scraps.

Moscow, ID(Zone 5a)

I've been adding citrus for years - never had a problem, and my compost finishes neutral. They break down faster if cut into small pieces.