White Iris affecting colors?

Orangeburg, SC

I was told that haveing white iris in my bed with all the colored Iris I have will eventualy wash the colors out of my Iris and I will end up with a bed of all White. Is this possible? It doesnt seem right to me or possible. I am new to iris so I could be wrong. I have about 60 varities thanks to a fellow DGer and some I bought.

South Hamilton, MA

You were given silly advice. The only way whites would increase is to form seedpods & drop the seeds in the bed if whites were better growers. I would not listen to people even on other iris statements if they tell you that.

Raleigh, NC

true. irisMA knows her stuff.

Had a friend say the same thing of a bed of blues and a few whites, said they all turned white/grey. What happened is the whites were more vigorous growers, and were more fertile. Over time, whenever she divided them, she replanted everything. the whites, being more vigorous, multiplied more so there was more of them (see Example below). Over 15 years they also interbred and dropped their seeds, which carried the vigor of the whites but muddied the color into a white tinged by the blue. I'm finding, for most plants, the less they flower, the more they grow. Those seeds had low budcount and REALLY took over, crowding out both their parents.

My sister had the same thing happen with a very very vigorous blue iris taking over. It will happen, with human help, with any vigorous iris that grows more than it's neighbors.

Example: My Lady Friend produced 37 sales-sized rhizomes and 19 smaller rhizomes in the time it took it's neighbor, Vizier, to produce 5. Now, if I divided and replanted all those, it's going to look like LF took over! I started with 1 each, but ended up with 56 to 5 ratio.

Just be sure to always give your irises room to grow, jumping4joy. If a vigorous one overruns it's neighbor, it can take the nutrients away, and slowly the less vigorous will dimenish.