Help! Seed pod on fall rebloomer.

Ellerbe, NC(Zone 8a)

Hello all! This is my first time posting on this forum. I have just gotten started collecting Iris in the past few years and have a small collection of about 50 cultivars. I have no experience with seed pods....this is my first. It is a great big fat seed pod on a rebloomer named "Clarence" that bloomed in October. It is still green, but our temps have consistently been dipping below freezing at night and it won't be long until the day temps will follow. Should I leave it on the plant? Cut it and bring it inside? Is it a lost cause and should I just forget it? I'd really like some seedlings..
Thanks
Roxanne

South Hamilton, MA

Bring it in. the seeds should be mature & will progress no further in the cold.

Raleigh, NC

always glad to see another gal in NC loving irises like I do! I'm a member of ENCIS (Eastern NC), a chapter of AIS, American Iris Society. Would urge you to check out www.irises.org NC is in Region 4.

If you are interested in irises and need local help, you are located about mid-distance between Charlotte, Greensboro and Raleigh, right? Well, there's a very active group in Charlotte you could contact with questions. would bet their meetings might be closer for you to get to.

ENCIS has members from Greensboro east, but most of our meetings are in Raleigh. The Region4 spring conference is coming up in Greensboro. Most meetings have an iris show open to the public, too.

I've started hybridizing, but I've not had any pods on fall rebloomers yet, so I could not answer your question. irisMA would know, so take her advice. There are a slew of AIS members on this forum, several are hybridizers.

South Hamilton, MA

If seed don't germinate, at least it gave you practice in starting them. Look for pods forming in July.

Raleigh, NC