Worm bins blueprints.

Big Sandy, TX(Zone 8a)

Hello,

I am new to worms and would like to jump in with both feet. I live on one acre of very pure red clay. I have composted for several years in a big way and have watched my worm count go up every year. I have had chickens for years that scratch around and fine worms but still they multiply. We now have a nursery and sell a lot of plants right out of our yard. I would like to build some worm bins from material I have so I can use the castings and hopefully add more worms to new areas we are using to grow plants. The chickens are going to be pined because they destroy potted plants on benches. We have a hoophouse and would like to raise the worms in there through the Winter. I would like to use worms from our area so I can just dump them on the ground and let them do their thing. I am not in a hurry to build the bins, just want to get them right the first time. Thanks.

I use chickens to hatch my peafowl. Hope you enjoy.

Thumbnail by kenboy
Longview, WA(Zone 8b)

Hi kenboy,
Here is a kitchen worm bucket I built. You could use the same idea as I used on the inside bucket, only use 1/2 plastic 55 gal barrel. You would need to mount legs on the
barrel about 24" in the air. I have been meaning to build a worm bin out of a 55 gal barrell but I got sick and my kids got rid of my barrels. I will have to start over.

The idea behind the wires in the bottom of the barrel is to allow you to scratch out the worm castings without having to disturb the worms. The worms live in top three or four inches of the bin. As they process the material it is forced down by the fresh stuff added to the top.
Paul.

Thumbnail by lonejack
Longview, WA(Zone 8b)

Cutting the bottom of the bucket.

Thumbnail by lonejack
Longview, WA(Zone 8b)

Drilling holes for the wire.

Thumbnail by lonejack
Longview, WA(Zone 8b)

Adding the wire.

Thumbnail by lonejack
Longview, WA(Zone 8b)