'Cherry Profusion' Zinnia from Seed?

West Chester, PA(Zone 6b)

Hi Everyone!
I collected ALOT of seeds from the 10 'Cherry Profusion' Zinnia plants I bought at the nursery this spring. Though I have been gardening for years, I am new at collecting seeds and trying to grow them. It says in the plant files under
Seed Collecting N/A: plant does not set seed, flowers are sterile, or plants will not come true from seed. Under
Propagation Methods: It gives you various ways to start from seed. This has always confused me when I look up any flower for this information in the plant files. Is the propagation method only for seeds bought at a store and not collected from plants you grew yourself? I don't care if the seeds grow Zinnia that are not exactly the same.....I just would like to know if they will grow at all???? Am I waisting my time collecting and cleaning and planting?
If anyone could answer the question about the zinnia and/or explain the plant file info to me it would be greatly appreciated!!! To those of you that know all about seed planting this may seem like a silly question, but to a novice like myself when it comes to this area I feel clueless.
Thanks if anyone could please help me!!!!
Happy Holidays to All!!!!
Terri

Picture of some of the Zinnia.....

Thumbnail by kastrol
North Augusta, ON

The seeds I collected from mine grew nicely. Collected more this Fall for next summer. The "Profusion" series Zinnias can't be beat, can they?

Hi Terri, I'll try to explain. Your Zinnia is a hybrid, meaning that it is a variety that has been purposely created by hybridization. Hybridizing is playing like a bee to take pollen from one selected plant, and place it on another of the same genus to produce something different, or better. Irises are hybrids as most plants today are. Hybridization have to be done between 2 plants in the same family that have the same genes/chromosomes..