My bloom of the day

Blackshear, GA

Mttsa. Chales Fitch 'Izmumi"

Thumbnail by GAgirl1066
Fair Lawn, NJ(Zone 6b)

Miltassia Charles M. Fitch 'Izumi' it is not.
http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/91060/

Blackshear, GA

Just going by the tag that was with it when I bought it. I am not an expert!

Fair Lawn, NJ(Zone 6b)

That's ok. neither am I.

(Zone 1)

GAgirl: It sure is pretty whichever it is!

Fredericton, NB(Zone 5a)

It would be a Brassia of some type. The yellow is much brighter than I usually see for these, they are usually more chartreuse yellow. I like it, very nice what ever it is.

Ken

Blackshear, GA

So, brassia? Why do people put labels on things if they don't know for SURE what they are? Orchids are probably the worst because there are so many of them. Anyway, she is a beaut!! I will pull that tag and trash it. Thanks

Fair Lawn, NJ(Zone 6b)

Big Box stores regularly sell masses of Orchids with misspelled tags. That is probably done on purpose to avoid any legal issues.
If you wish to purchase properly labeled quality Orchids, you need to buy them from a reputable Orchid grower. RARE mistakes might still happen, we all make spelling errors at times. But one can always look up the name ( easily done!) and see if it is indeed correctly labeled/spelled or if WE might have copied the name wrong. If not, the grower can be contacted easily.

This message was edited Dec 9, 2009 2:47 PM

(Zone 1)