Aristolochia - Best time to start seeds

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

Last year the passiflora bug bit me and after looking at all the amazing pictures of the aristolochia I've been bitten by that bug too for next year.

I received Aristolochia fimbriata and gigantea seeds in a trade this year and am wondering when the best time to start them will be for earliest blooms and would appreciate any advice on the best way to start the seeds as I have zero experience with Aristolochia.

X

North Little Rock, AR(Zone 7b)

These are a first for me too. I have recently started Aristolochia fimbriata seed and currently have 8 little seedlings. I don't know if the cool nights slowed their development or if they simply take a while to establish some roots before they begin growing but mine are growing slowly. I did bring them inside, put them under a simple fluorescent light by a window and they're begining to grow a bit now. They are still very tiny but other than their size, appear healthy. I recently misted them with a diluted liquid MG fert and bottom watered the little cell packs with the same diluted fert water. The seed germinated about 8 weeks ago.

For soil, I used dampened ProMix potting mix and sprinkled a bit of vermiculite on the surface and misted it before inserting the little seeds, pointy end down. I left the wide end of the seed uncovered and slipped the cells into a plastic bag until the seed began to germinate. Before planting the seed, I wrapped them in a damp paper towel, sealed in a plastic baggie and kept them in a warm'ish spot for a week or so, to allow the seed covering to soften a bit.

I've now got three more seeds in a paper towel in a baggie and will plant them into cells next week. I hope I have as much luck with these as I did with the first group. I plan to plant at least some of them in hanging baskets next spring. My main reason for growing them is as a host plant for the butterflies.

I've had no experience with the other vine.