Aristolochia fimbriata -White Veined Hardy Dutchman pipevine

North Little Rock, AR(Zone 7b)

Does anyone on this forum grow this vine? I sure could use some advice.

I have some of these little vines started from seed and they're now in my small greenhouse. At about 7 weeks, there doesn't seem to be too much growth on them. They're in a small 6 cell in ProMix potting soil with a thin layer of vermiculite on top of the mix. The oldest seedling has abt 4 small true leaves and maybe 1 inch high.

Should I transplant them into a larger container and feed with a diluted fert drink or do you think it's just because of the cooling night time temps that is holding down their growth. I've never met one of these vines in person so don't know what to expect in my zone 7b.

My plan is to try and grow these little vines in a hanging basket in high shade outside. Just don't know when I should move them to a larger container.

I'm quite new to growing things from seed, too, although I've gardened on and off most of my life. So this is all a learning curve for me. Also the first time I've had a greenhouse so I'm also learning how plants and seedlings do in that environment.

My thanks for your time and advice.

Mary

San Diego, CA(Zone 10b)

Mary, if they're still that small (1 inch) I would not transplant them. You can easily kill seedlings by moving them to too large a container. Just wait until their roots fill their little cells before you transplant...

robcorreia,

Thank you for your advice. I'll leave them as is until I can see little roots at the bottom slits of the cells.

Do you think there's enough food in the potting mix to sustain the plants while this small? I really suspect they're not growing much because of our night time temps now falling into low 40's in the greenhouse. I'll begin running the heater when needed to try and keep the greenhouse above low 40's during the night. Just want everything in there to overwinter safely.

Mary