Hydrangea question

Framingham, MA(Zone 6a)

I noticed that my neighbor has cut all her hydrangea bushes (mophead, lacecap, etc.) down to about 5" tall. I remember reading or hearing somewhere that if you did that, you sacrificed blooms the following year. Any advice? I'm confused....
Thanks,
Deb

Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)

she just lost a lot of her blooms - i do not trim mine until the late spring when i can tell what is alive of died over the winter.

Framingham, MA(Zone 6a)

Thanks Wha.
Do you wrap your bushes in burlap? I was thinking of doing that this year since one of mine gets a lot of wind during the winter. It comes back to full size in the summer, but blooms are sparse. I'm a novice when it comes to hydrangeas so any advice is welcome.

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

I have never bothered covering them, but it would help, Deb.

They should be pruned, if needed, right after blooming since they bloom on old wood.

Nantucket, MA(Zone 7a)

tamberlin, here is a great site. http://www.hydrangeashydrangeas.com/pruning.html

In the past I have trimmed a few of next years blooms in error too on my lacecaps. My favorite hydrangea is the oakleaf hydrangea that can get huge. Here is a collage of one of them. We prune them but we only take out about a third of it at a time to ensure that we don't destroy all the blooms. I leave 2/3rds of the branches uncut and then cut down the rest to the height I want to actually keep the plant at and then the next year I cut out the tallest ones and so on and on. It keeps them at a height that I want. I also cut out any old stuff or crossed branches or just crowded ones. Seems to work. I love the fall color. No one on Nantucket seems to wrap any types and we get wind galore, but we are not as cold as you. Patti

Thumbnail by bbrookrd
Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)