Transplanting

Orangeburg, SC

Hello everyone. I recently joined Dave's Garden as a subscriber and found this forum. I hope someone can help me . I've always been an indoor gardening person, but I'm now beginning to venture out of doors with mostly perrenials. I recently tried my hand at rooting plants and now I have some with good roots (white mexican petunia, chrysanthemums, salvia, scarlet sage, etc.). My question is, can these be transplanted now in zone 8a or do I have to overwinter them? I really don't have the space as I don't have a greenhouse.

Milton, MA(Zone 6a)

http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/1474/

that might help.
lots of things you can do outside your house. The bigger the container, the better the chance they'll make it through the winter.

(Tracey) Mobile, AL(Zone 8b)

Great Info, Carrie..

Question... I'm still fairly new at gardening. So my question is surely out of complete ignorance...."The bigger the container, the better the chance they'll make it through the winter" --- does this cause a fight between having plants that survive the winter and root rot ? What about the water in the soil freezing? Please help. I am desperately trying to learn about container plants that will survive winter in my area, 8a..

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I would guess in your zone the soil in the pots probably won't freeze unless you get an unusually long cold snap. The rule of thumb that I usually follow is that being in a container knocks about a zone off the hardiness--so in order to feel good that your perennials in containers will survive, make sure they're hardy at least to zone 7a. Or you can always sink your pots into the ground if you have things that are a little more borderline--that helps to insulate them from the temperature swings that you can see with the soil in an above-ground pot.

(Tracey) Mobile, AL(Zone 8b)

ecrane,