Hope someone can help me with this one.

(Zone 1)

Hi everyone,

I was told there are a few people here who really know Bromeliads, so I was directed over to this forum to see if someone might recognize my plant. I've had this Brom for about three years and it had a label/tag when I bought it, but the tag is long gone and I can't remember what it is. I've looked through hundreds of photo's but I am not good at comparing photo's for identification. I don't know Brom's at all and don't know a Neo from an Aechmea from a Guzmania! ^_^ I have a Neoreglia 'Zoe' and was thinking this "looks" like a Neoregelia but I really have no clue.

Thanks in advance if anyone has any idea about the name of this one!

Lin

Thumbnail by plantladylin

Hi Lin here are the brom lovers ...I am sure they will help you.
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1046468/

Coffs Harbour, Australia

Hello Lin, thats definitely a Neoregelia, but I couldn't ell you which species/cultivar it might be. It looks to be a smallish one, and I would think it could have a bit of fireball in there. I'll add a link in our brom thread and see if anyone there can tell.
The neoregelias have a flower head that sits well down in the centre, and have small purple/lilac/white flowers that appear in small numbers over a period of time. Thats the easiest way to distinguish them. Most have clourful foliage, but some are plain green with the centre flushing a red/pink/purple at flowering. Shade keeps the plant greener, and gives it longer, narrower leaves, whereas brighter light brings out the colours and makes the leavs shorter, wider and a much nicer shape in my opinion. Yours has great colour and shape, so you're doing something right!
Sue

(Zone 1)

Chrissy: Thanks for that link, I'm going to take time after dinner to read through that thread, at first glance I see some really beautiful Bromeliads!