Dianthus In Winter - Ellijay Mountains

Ellijay, GA(Zone 7a)

Hi Folks:

Newbie here. I planted some Dianthus Sept 1 and wondered what type of care I should provide them with the coming winter months. Some references say mulch after the first freeze, others say after the ground freezes etc. It's a wacky internet...who to believe? Here's a pic of them this morning. They're anywhere from 3-5 inches in height.

Thumbnail by kdfisher
Sugar Valley, GA(Zone 7b)

Hi KD...Welcome to the GA forum...

Personally, I mulch everything before the frost if I can...especially tender plants and at 3-5 inches, I'd call those Tender...

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

There are many different kinds of Dianthus so there are variations in culture. I grow a perennial Sweet William type at Maypop. Mine are in a raised planter, in afternoon sun and well drained soil. They do well in these conditions though the ones more like carnations usually prefer it cooler. I don't ever mulch them in Fall, but put down the thinnest layer of mini bark in Spring to make the planter more attractive. They rot easily if wet. Maybe mulching is for colder, drier zones than ours. Here is a good site with a variety of types and an answer to your question. http://www.justgardeners.com/hrsc/articles/art_dianthus.html. Hope this helps.
Laurel

Thumbnail by MaypopLaurel
Ellijay, GA(Zone 7a)

Thanks for the replies folks! I did put some mulch around them about five days ago, also to help prevent soil erosion as the area can be troublesome with heavy rains. Btw, mine are Sweet Wms also.

So far doing quite well. Wondering how they will fare through the winter.

Lawrenceville, GA(Zone 7b)

I bought some type of dianthus at wallyworld a few weeks ago and put them in a deck pot on the front porch. I don't know if it is all of the rain we've had that they love or the cooler temps, but they seem to be happy. They are blooming their heads off.