Heucheras and Walnut trees

Kimmell, IN

I am relatively new at gardening and have spent the last couple of years landscaping around my house. I have left the front of the house for last because of the dreaded black walnut tree in the front yard. I have spent sometime researching which plants can grow under walnut trees. So far I have found "Coral bells" on the list but not Heuchera as a species. I am worried that maybe only the old heirloom "coral bells" will work, but I would like to get some different colors going if possible. Does anyone know which varieties should/will grow under walnut trees? Has anybody had any experience with growing heuchera or other plants under walnut trees?

Woodinville, WA(Zone 8b)

I love walnut trees, but I know they can be a problem for some things. Did you see this list?

http://tomclothier.hort.net/page43.html

And this

http://www.extension.umn.edu/distribution/horticulture/components/8464-30uabwt.pdf

Both list Heucheras . . .

I just did a search on Google on "What plants grow under walnut trees". I think there are more results than what I've posted.

Kathy

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

Jenny, I grow 5 or 6 different varieties of Heuchera and Tiarella under my Black Walnut. They all do just fine.

Kimmell, IN

Thank you all for your help. I will check out these links out.

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

I grow over 50 kinds some make it and some have died
not really sure why-maybe the trees? i may try them again and if they
dont make it then we move on to the next ones

this is last yrs pic-it really has filled in

Thumbnail by notmartha
Bensenville, IL(Zone 5a)

notmartha - do you have an updated pic of your garden posted somewhere? I remember seeing this one from last year and i'd love to see one where it's filled in. I just love your shade garden.

Athens, PA

Dori -

I would also love to see an updated photo too. I put in a shade garden this past year and I am hoping it fills in nicely next year......

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)