Clematis Maria Cornelia

Prince George, VA(Zone 7a)

Can anyone provide information about the subject clematis? I saw it on the Brushwood Nursery website and it looks gorgeous. I'm a newbie and have just discovered that the smaller vined clematis may be easier to grow, at least that's what the website says. I would like to plant it among my pink Knock-Out roses. any information would be appreciated.

Baton Rouge, LA

Ford, I believe you are thinking of the smaller flowered cultivars, as opposed to the smaller vined cultivars. Maria Cornelia is a viticella that grows to 10 feet, so it's not a smaller vine.

Appleton, WI

I don't have Maria Cornelia yet, (should be shipping soon), but it suspect it will get too large to put with your rose. Most, if not all, knock out roses don't get over 4 feet. Maria will probably smother it.

It is stunning though, and one of the best whites.

http://www.clematis.hull.ac.uk/new-clemdetail.cfm?dbkey=3288

Beautiful! I guess I'll have to find somewhere else to put it. :) Any suggestions for one to plant with the roses?

Appleton, WI

Maybe Bourbon.... the color is bright and might be ok with your bright pink.

http://www.clematis.hull.ac.uk/new-clemdetail.cfm?dbkey=2969

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

Fordr4,
Great to see you here, fellow Va gardener. Why don't you call Debbie at Silver Star, for example and ask her about plants that would work. I know she was great to help me with which clematis would go best with each rose. She is very helpful, even has a clematis recently named after her! What a wonderful statement that would be. I have knockout roses that are every bit of 4 feet and in some spots have 3 planted together making a mass - so if you have a large rose area you could weave the clematis back and forth. http://davesgarden.com/products/gwd/c/4995/

that is the link on Garden Watchdog for Silver Star. Where do you get your roses for the Va zone? I buy from Palatines and have received the best roses for this cold zone.