So, just when is our first hard freeze?

Grayslake, IL(Zone 5a)

It seems that all the info I see about fall perennial planting is X number of weeks before first hard freeze. It's my first year in the dirt at this house so I didn't pay attention last year. I found a chart that said there is a 50 percent probability of frost by October 15 and freeze by October 27, 90 percent by 11/1 and 11/12, in Waukegan. That's the closest city to us in the chart, but that's probably at the little airport which is a lot closer to the lake. We're just south of Gurnee. What are your experiences?

This message was edited Sep 1, 2009 1:00 PM

Lake in the Hills, IL(Zone 5a)

I'm close to you geographically and use the October 15 target. I like "safe" though so that's why I use that date. That said, I don't hesitate to plant perennials early September. Gives them time to get down some roots before the frost. I play the second half of the month by ear since some years are warmer during late September than others. In a cool year, might be better to wait until spring to put more tender perennials in the ground. October is shrubs and trees only for me.

Great question! It will be interesting to see how far others push the envelope (instead of using "safe" dates) and what their results are. Will be watching thread to read and learn!

~Sharon

West Central, WI(Zone 4a)

There will no doubt be a hard freeze later this month for me. I always try to protect a few of my beauties from the first few freezes because the weather always seems to improve for at least another week afterwards.

I always seem to have more to plant than time to plant. If the ground isn't frozen.....I keep planting. Of course there will be a few fatalities, and you need to keep an eye out for heaving....but if you've got 'em.....they need to get into the ground. And.....since I'm a sucker for those clearance plants................

(I also cover my beds heavily with dry leaves once the ground is frozen.)