I'm new at this and have an emergency situation. Please HELP

Buffalo Grove, IL

Hi, I'm new at this--my worms arrived 2 days ago. I got them settled into my new bin per instructions, and fed them. Right away, I noticed that they were very active--up into the roof and all over. Within a few hours I found them on the outside of the bin, so I took off the cover and put it under a light. Since they were staying in place, before I went to bed I covered them up--put the lid on-- and turned off the light. My husband woke me at 4 AM--there were worms all over the kitchen, some dead. I ended up uncovering it and shining a desk light into it. This afternoon (36+ hours later), I covered it again. The worms have started crawling out again. WHAT DO I DO NOW??????? I intend to keep them inside, as they wouldn't survive the winters here. I don't think I can handle another episode of wormicide and mass migration. If anyone has any suggestions or even info on how long they will likely do this before settling, I'd REALLY appreciate hearing all about.

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

There will always be a few wanderers, but "worms all over" sounds pretty extreme. I really think something is the matter with your bin set up, that they do not want to be in there. Maybe if you want to describe more about what you have, folks might have some suggestions for improvement.

Bummer

Buffalo Grove, IL

What do you mean by "a few" wanderers? How many is normal?

Is there a way to really screw up the setup? I mean, anything I could have done completely wrong without realizing it?

More details, hmmm. Well, I have a Can of Worms, new, and set it up as described in the instruction manual with the coconut fiber. I put the worms in and added a bit of food. Maybe I should have waited on the food til they were more settled? but they were roaming around the bin and I thought food would be good incentive.
There were, I'd say, 200 worms on the insides of the bin.