REALLY HAPPY with first order from Ensata!

Baton Rouge, LA

Well, this is my first time to order JI's and thus my first experience with Ensata. I ordered the 10 JI Collection and sent a list of the 3-falled cultivars that I would appreciate for my garden. I included about 30 different cultivars on the list. The collection costs $39. A friend who grows JIs in Mississippi had advised me that the 6-falled cultivars have difficulty blooming in our heat and humidity, so I didn't want to sink more money than that in to my first try with them. Here's what they included in my collection:

Blue Embers - normally $8
Calamari - normally $10
Chiyo No Haru - normally $8
Geisha Dance - normally $10
Haru No Umi - normally $10
Ink on Ice - normally $10
Joyous Troubador - normally $10
Oregon Marmalade - normally $10
Rainbow Darter - normally $10
Saru Odori - normally $10

So, for $39, I received a total of $96 in irises if I had purchased them at regular price!!!! To say I'm thrilled is an understatement!

Does anybody have experience with these cultivars? Any tips or information would be greatly appreciated by this JI newbie. Thanks! =)

This message was edited Aug 28, 2009 3:24 AM

Cocoa Beach, FL(Zone 10a)

The cultivar planting sheet that they enclose with the order offers very good information. I would add to mulch well and keep watered until new roots are established. If you could shade with an umbrella or screen of some kind it would reduce stress until they are settled in.

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

Great collection Evey! Ensatas collections just can't be beat. I have all of those, and like them all. Rainbow Darter is an especially lovley one.

Raleigh, NC

aren't the fellas up there just wonderful? so very nice. I was there a few years ago visiting, because I had never seen a blooming JI before and couldn't decide what to order. DH was nice enough to detour up their way for me at the end of an emergency trip out to SD.

Arnett, WV(Zone 5b)