Agastache re-bloom?

Emerald Hills, CA(Zone 9b)

I'm new to growing agastache. If I deadhead them, will they re-bloom?

Many thanks!

Liz

DeLand/Deleon Spring, FL(Zone 8b)

Liz,
I dead head mine, and they are constantly in bloom. I have about 6 different ones. Also it helps to keep them from getting leggy. Here in Florida both Agastaches and Salvia's will get leggy if not "deheaded" or out right cut back several times a year. Not sure about CA, but I'm sure someone will chime in. Rich ?

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

The ones I have generally bloom all season long so I don't deadhead them--they're still going strong now and will keep going until winter. I do cut them back every spring but other than that I leave them alone.

Candor, NC

Agastaches are usually so vigorous that you won't need to deadhead them, except for appearance. This should be true along the Front Range, in California, and in other similar climatic zones.

Trimming might help in subtropical areas, but much of the seed has already ripened in the spike when the last flowers have faded.

The blue, dense headed spike forms of subgenus Agastache (northern and Korean forms) are very good seed producers. Subgenus Brittonastrum (sw USA and northern Mexico, with yellow to red tubular flowers in open spikes) produce relatively little seed.

Thanks very much mjsponies & ecrane. I'll treat them like my salvia, then.

Ecrane, I live across the bay from you & my agastache died back completely last year & grew again in the spring, but I just planted them last October, so perhaps they'll hang in there this winter. Last fall, they bloomed until winter & I really enjoyed that!

Thanks again!

Liz

Thanks Rich - we cross posted - they really are easy care, aren't they? I only have two, but will definitely get more - they're perfect for my xeriscape garden!

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)