Need some advice...Hydrangea, hollyhocks, goatsbeard

Spooner, WI

I'm brand new to Dave's Garden, and am excited to be part of this community. I've been gardening for over 20 years, mostly learning by trial & error, and as much as I love to learn about gardening, I also love to help infect others with the garden bug! Thanks in advance for your collaboration.

I made a haul today in local trades. Going to trade with a woman I met online, I noticed a lush, happy line of Hydrangea on the side of an old house. After picking up Hollyhocks from the online friend, I stopped by the old farmhouse & asked if I could "help" him thin his Hydrangea, he said sure & I noticed he had just as many goatsbeard, and he said I can take some of them. Yippee!

So, I am curious about this type of Hydrangea. The flowers are a sort of green-white. Is that because they aren't open yet? There were a few heads in the bunch at his house that were PURE white & very fragrant. Are those a different kind, or is it just that I got mine before the blooms were mature? I realize that it would probably have been better to have waited until after they finished blooming, but the opportunity was there, so I took it. They are all soaking in water right now, while I decide the best places to plant them.

The photo is of the blooms on the Hydrangea.

Also, this is the second bunch of hollyhocks she gave me, since they are seeding themselves ALL over her garden. Some were fairly large & I planted them after soaking them overnight & am watering daily. The tall stems are lying on the ground (of course), but they have little bits of growth standing tall & happy. Can I cut off the top growth, or do they need that to help the stems grow? I'm not very familiar with Hollyhocks, so I'm kinda clueless & want to be sure this latest batch gets planted & is happy & healthy.