Are you familiar with Catalpa and its habit?

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

I'm new to bignonia trees, though I love the orchid-like flowers of the mature specimen that I've seen around my neighborhood. I've seen weak trees growing in the wild without regular care they could look rather ratty and unattractive, not to mention it's a hostplant for catalpa sphinx moths (?) whose larvae is used as fish baits. It's said the caterpillars can defoliage the tree rapidly.

A couple of years past, I've lost a mature dogwood tree, in its place, bird planted a Catalpa! I'm seeking to learn more about this tree's cuture. If you've helpful experience to share, memories of the 'fish-baits' story to tell? Please join in for the discussion. The young tree is growing in this lush partially shaded garden.

Let's talk about Catalpas.

Thumbnail by Lily_love
Central, AL(Zone 7b)

The picture isn't the best. But, the leaves are shown with evidence of insect damage. I'm interested in the Catalpa's moths larvae. Is this how the leaves look like when they're hosting the caterpillars?

The tree is now too tall for me to take a closer look. I enjoy butterfly gardening, and I'm raising the tree for the first time for its dual-function; flowers and butterfly purposes.

Thumbnail by Lily_love
Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Quoting:
bird planted a Catalpa!

The wind, actually ;-) . . . the seeds are small, dry, and winged, dispersed by wind, not birds

Resin

Letohatchee, AL