Gooseneck Loosestrife???

Concord, NH

I just got back from vacation in mid-coast Maine (Bayside Village in Northport, near Belfast and Camden) and fell in love with gooseneck loosestrife. Would appreciate any comments, info, and where I might get me some. I have a big blah weed patch near my driveway and thought it would look great there. Always looking for hassle-free, hardy perennials that grow bushy and fast (any other suggestions?). Already discovered--and LOVE--bee balm (I adore the magenta colored one!) and am seeking nippon daisies (aka Montauk daisies--still can't find them anywhere...saw those on Monhegan Island in Maine...they were SHRUBS!)...thanks everyone! I am just a beginner!

Thumbnail by jjgreenleaf
Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Hi JJ, and welcome! Be careful with the loosestrife. Might not be as much of a problem in your cooler climate, but it is invasive here. I have been trying to get rid of mine for years now - with no luck. It throws out these red runners and it's next to impossible to kill. It is pretty in flower, though.

Southeast, MA(Zone 6b)

Hi JJ. Ditto what Victor said. The purple loosestrfe is banned in Massachusetts and many other states. You may try to plant it in a pot then plant the pot in the garden like people do with mint if you really want to try it. Here is some info for you. http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/656/

South Hamilton, MA

Certainly invasive here especially in the waterway. Its native pest in europe, a wasp, has been imported & is doing a good job in our local river which has problems with a good flow in summer. Having the loosetrife did not help. Some of us would like something that eats lily leaf beetles.

Nilwood, IL(Zone 5b)

It would fill that patch of yours but doesn't stay blooming long. It is very invasive here if you put it close to any flowers. Bev

South China, ME(Zone 5a)

Planted these 3 years ago and yes it's filled in nicely. It does take off but i keep them trimmed back and so far so good.