maggots in my compost bin.

mobile, AL(Zone 8a)

Sorry this must be a stupid question, but I am just completely new to composting, so I don't have a clue. About a week I was turning my compost pile I usually do this once a week and found tons of fly maggots on my compost bin, they usually gather where I place my food scraps. Today I just turned my pile again and they are still there. Is this a good thing or should I be worried. I have not placed any meat scraps or anything just paper, straw, grass clippings and veggie matter. Are the maggots part of the process?

Please Help!

Rockport, ME(Zone 5b)

Are you sure they're maggots and not just slugs or some other type of worm or caterpiller? I've never heard of actual maggots in anything but meat. To my mind bugs are just part of the process. Worms aren't the only things in there, I suppose they all play their part in breaking down the material. Congrats on having a compost pile in the first place, that's a HUGE step to happy and healthy gardens. Can you post an (ick) picture maybe?

mobile, AL(Zone 8a)

Yes I'll take a picture tomorrow so you can see it. The only thing I can think of is that it could be grubs. In one of the raise beds that I put down I decided to dig a little into the soil take the grass that was underneath and place the raise bed on top, to my surprise I found tons of grubs underneath my grass, I decided to place the clumps of grass that I digged out in my compost bin but really did not think that there were any grubs in it, maybe a couple got in it and could have made babies. I just hope I did not screwed it up.

Rockport, ME(Zone 5b)