Coneflower transplanting

Cynthia (N. Kansas C, MO(Zone 5b)

It's almost August and I just moved some coneflowers from IA to MO. Until I can get them in the ground, I put them in planters in quality soil. They are in extreme (!!!!) shock. Should I cut off the dead flowers and stems to try and save them? I am NEW to all this - your help is appreciated!

hc,

Coneflowers are extremely hardy plants. But, yes by all means, cut thise blooms and stocks off.
Since the plants are in shock, I'd keep them out of direct sun for a few days, maybe even a couple weeks.

You might want to leave them in the pots for awhile till you see some new growth, before transplanting them back into the ground.

Good luck. I imagine they will be just fine.

Springfield, OH(Zone 6a)

I always try to keep some shade on mine after transplanting, like Sashagirl said. Keep 'em moist. But I gotta tell you don't get too awful worried, some coneflowers esp., the natives look retched after transplanting, some 2 to 3 weeks. Coneflowers, Black-eyed Susans just look horrible sometimes! It is just the nature of the beast, and i would not stress it. In the morning they may look great, only to go out an hour later, and find them all bent over looking like they will croak any second. They just do that. I expect it when I move coneflower, lol. Keep them moist, give them a little shade, all will be well. A couple weeks or 3, they will be fine. you'll see!

Thank you for your insights! I will cut them back and move them into the shade. We have a fence going up in September, so will leave them in their pots until I can get them into their home. I am so thrilled over this forum as being a beginner, I can learn from you guys. Thanks again!

Hc,

You're going to love this place! Seems someone is always 'round the table' to help.

Welcome aboard!

Sasha

San Antonio, TX

Wow, aren't coneflowers supposed to look wretched in July and August?????