Something is going crazy with my plants

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

I posted this in Garden Diseases & Pests but have gotten no response, so I'm trying over here. Here's a link to my post: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1014762/

To further clarify, this is happening in a very localized area. I did find a couple of caterpillars too.
I think I may have to break down and spray something . . .

Waterman, IL(Zone 5a)

Seen any small butterflies around? Their caterpillar larva may be the culprit.

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

I do think it is caterpillars. The ones I've found appear to be some variety of cutworm. I've only seen one or two little white butterflies and one monarch, but I think he was visiting, because I don't have any milkweed. Anyway, I broke down and sprayed Ortho last night. Hated to do it and tried to wait until all the bees had gone home. I am still new at this and put so much work into planting this spring. I put in quite a few annuals to fill in between baby perennials, and it is so discouraging to see them all looking so shabby. I hope I don't have to spray very many times!

Whiteside County, IL(Zone 5a)

I don't think it would be a butterfly caterpillar because each species have specific host plants. You have way too many different types of plants effected.

Bensenville, IL(Zone 5a)