Best Way to Harvest Coneflower Seeds and When?

Menifee, CA(Zone 9a)

Hi!

I'm new to DG - and have some pretty purple coneflowers that I purchased from a local nursery about a month ago. I really want to collect the seed, and I'm not sure when/what is the best way to go about it. Several of the flowers have drooped, and the center is quite hard, so I wasn't sure if I cut them now before the birds discover it or not.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Hugs,
Erin

(Clint) Medina, TN(Zone 7b)

I usually wait until later in the year closer to fall. I wait until the bloom stalk starts turning brown right under the cone. I just cut them off with scissors and I pick the seeds out on top of a paper towel. It's just like a miniature version of a sunflower head. The little seeds are arranged in a similar pattern too. I keep the seeds in zip/lock baggies in the veggie drawer in the fridge.

(Carisa) Raleigh, NC(Zone 7b)

I have noticed that after I deadhead my echs, it seems as if the heads go to seed over in a pile where I throw them. I haven't actually taken the time to inspect them but in the back of my mind I was planning to take a look around Fall timeframe :) just to see if I wanted anything over there to keep. Do they do that or is that just a surface observance that upon further inspection I would find nothing to keep? Just curious. I thought about plunking a few in the ground to see what comes up next year. Wish I had more room for experimentation, say 50 acres or so. :)

Hey, I'm not greedy.

Menifee, CA(Zone 9a)

Thanks so much for the info! Hopefully the birds won't steal them all before then. I appreciate it!

Hugs,
Erin

(Clint) Medina, TN(Zone 7b)

Erin - Keep your eyes out for those gold finches. I lost so many hybrid Echinacea seeds to those sneaky birds. LOL. I now have some plants that I leave just for the birds though. They are now raising their young in my birdhouses too!

Garner, NC(Zone 7b)