New to Dahlias- Need guidance...

Hayward (Z8b-9a), CA(Zone 8b)

After discovering this forum, I am now bonkers over dahlias :)... The thing is, I have zero knowledge and ONE dahlia plant (that i didn't even know was a dahlia!:). It is thriving tho. What I need help on is choosing a "few" more dahlias to start my collection. Granted that it's already summer and I'm in Z8-9, can I still successfully start my collection? And which dahlias should I "have to have"? Thanks!

Pinellas Park, FL(Zone 10a)

Welcome! Both to the forum and to the addiction that is dahlia growing. I wish I had extras to send you, but I planted a little nuttily (is that a word?) this year and put them all in, where ever I had room. When it comes to still planting, I am a zone 9-ish (depending on who you ask) and I just planted 5 new tubers 2 days ago. So I usually do well till December-January till mine start dying back. Literally, I have had blooms well through November-December some years.

As far as varieties, I will leave that to a lot of the pros that come here. There are so many here that have oodles of info and years of experience. I am fairly new to the obsession myself. There may be ones that do better/worse thru the years, different weather patterns, etc. I honestly can grow almost any variety in my zone, though I do have issues with some border/dwarf varieties. I would say pick the ones you love (my #1 favorite is waterlily, though I do love them all) and run with it.

If you are really worried, maybe try them in large pots, so you can shelter them better from the elements if you get an early winter/rains, etc.

Regardless-have fun. They are beautiful and addictive, aren't they? I had never worked with them, till I bought a few bargain bin ones from an Aldi store and thus it began...

Thanks for the warm welcome, queequeg!

Uh-oh! I just got a packet of the Burpee dwarf variety! They're still in my makeshift (flourescent lamp+egg cartons) "birthing" station though...