Help - How to Prepare Iris for shipping?

Huntersville, NC

trying to successfully ship a trade.

was told to ''cut the iris back".
Im really a newbie at ALL of this.

that mean wash off all soil, remove leaves - ? ?
. . .does this mean remove roots too??and just leave the rhizome??

trying to do right . . .

plz help!

Vandalia, IL

Im not a expert shipper but what I do know,, is,, trim the green leaves,,like a t-pee,,just tap the soil off no clods..trim off any rhizone that looks dead or no healthy roots,,and ship on a monday, so there not just sitting in a warehouse somewhere. I also get a request of delivery?? not sure the proper term...alittle x-tra but worth it if you have to track it. good luck :)

Belfield, ND(Zone 4a)

What type of Iris are you shipping?

Huntersville, NC

rebloomers.

i ship Priority - so even shipping on Tuesdays can get all delivered by Friday.

This message was edited Jun 30, 2009 10:11 AM

South Hamilton, MA

Leave roots, you can trim them a bit if extra long. the reason leaves are 'cut back' (there's your term) is to minimize water loss. Rebloomers will start to increase in their new home but probably won't bloom this fall. but you don't want the energy to have to go into root growth when you want the plant to make increases. If dirt shakes off, fine. If not blast the plant with the hose. It doesn't hurt to dip the rhizome in a 10% bleach solution, wait a bit, rinse off then dry. You want to protect the garden of the person on the receiving end.

Port Sanilac, MI

As a newbee last year, I didn't know anything about "Mothers". I probably sent out a few to people because they were really big. lol. If, by some odd reason, you are as ignorant as I was, please don't send mothers. Let me take this opportuntity to say "I'm sorry" to anyone that I might have done that to; if I did, everyone was too polite to tell me.

Good luck on your trades; I have really enjoyed them.

Gardiner, ME(Zone 5a)