Newbie here - which irises multiply the fastest

Milton, MA

Hi,
my name is Angela and I live in Massachussett's.We have 4 children,2 boys and 2 girls.I have just been a member of a few days.
I am new to irises and have only a couple which are doing good.

I am confused about the different types of irises.Which ones do bloom first ? which ones increase the fastest .Need some help please,
Angela

Lebanon, OR

usually the first to bloom are the median iris (standard dwarf, border bearded, min. tall bearded, min dwarf bearded) the last is the first then followed by the others, these are by height...as to class.

They also are the fastest to increase.

D

South Hamilton, MA

You might want to try ' intermediate bearded 'iris. If you have the talls, the IBs bloom ahead of those which extends the season & they are very fast growing. Also easier to deal with in windy weather.

South Hamilton, MA

Since tall bearded irises (28" & taller) are the easiest to find, I have been thinking about some which grow well here & can often be found at garden centers. Next July Iris society of Mass will have a sale where you can find the smaller ones which have been recommended. Check for pictures of these on plant files & see if you like them. Blue--Sapphire Hills. Deep violet--Dusky Challenger. Black (dark purple) Before the Storm. Iris red--Spartan. White--Immortality (will also rebloom, but a bit difficult to get started, then it is fine). Plicata (white, edged & dotted or purple lines) Jesse's Song, Autumn Circus. Pink--Pink Attraction. (may rebloom). I can't think of yellow at the moment. These plants should have 2 to 3 increases per bloomstalk each year.

Milton, MA

Thank you so much irisloverdee and irisMA for the helpful advice to my iris question. I am looking forward to buying more and adding them to my gardens. I think I should start a "wish list" notebook with all of your suggestions--to take along with me when I go out to the nurseries. Thank you so much !!!! Angela