clematis in pots

Long Beach, NY(Zone 7a)

Hi all!
I'm new to DG as well as gardening and I just love it! I've learned tons already from everyone and the photographs of your gardens and clematis are beautiful.
I have 3 clematis plants that I recently purchased. I want to keep them in big pots for awhile. They all have blooms and tons of buds on them. Is it safe to plant them now? Will I risk losing the blooms and buds from transplant shock?
The Etoile Violette and Rouge Cardinal are in 2 and a half gallon containers and the Jackmanii is in a 1 gallon container.
Any info would be real appreciated!
Thanks!

Thumbnail by june2412
Brooksville, FL(Zone 9a)

Beautiful, but I would hang tight as others who are the experts will chime in and let you know the right answer. Personally I wouldn't risk planting them right now while they are in bloom. Clems don't like their roots disturbed.

Nice start to your clem garden.

You will really enjoy DG, great learning and sharing here. True gardeners.

Janet

Appleton, WI

You should cut back a clematis when you plant it. If you want to enjoy the blooms for a while, leave them in the pot for now but only if you can keep them watered and provide them some shade from the heat. Those little pots heat up quickly.

Long Beach, NY(Zone 7a)

Thanks for the replies. Should I just keep them in the containers from the nurseries? When is the right time to transplant them? In the fall?

Appleton, WI

I plant anytime during the year and then baby them. It's easier for me to baby plants in the ground than in pots. Some people feel it's easier to take care of potted plants.

(Zone 4a)

Great clematis choices....they are gorgeous....I would wait till after they are done flowering......then plant them and cut them back by at least half if not more and fertilize them. That is just my opinion.

Delaware, OH