Clematis ID Please!!!

Newton, MA

Hi kind people,

was hoping you could ID this and help me figure out what we actually got. The tag in the plant says Clematis triternata "Rubromarginata" Im pretty sure its a Jackmanni because I see a ton of flower pods and it has just climbed like crazy. One of the flowers started to open today so I took a shot of one. What do you think it is. Thanks in advance!

James

Thumbnail by jep2075
Delaware, OH

well it is not a rubromarginata for sure! where did you buy it?

did you buy it somewhere that sells a lot of jackmanii? are other jackamii's flowering in your area?

i am sure you will be able to positively ID it as it opens up, but you may have already hit the nail on the head.

Newton, MA

Hi!

Thank you for your response, I'm pretty sure its a jack, I'm very new to the whole clematis thing and I understand the basics thus far, but the one thing I remember reading about Jack is that it is an incredibly vigorous climber. And that is a total understatement! This thing just took off right after I put it in the ground! So I had a gut feeling before I noticed the flowers yesterday. I've seen some photos here and there on Jacks and it was like a total explosion of color!

I purchased it at Home Depot, because it looked so cool and unusual on the tag which I still have right in front of me! The funny thing is that I wanted a Jack anyway, so I'm not too miffed about it, but I got what I thought was the Rubro because it was a late summer/fall bloomer according to the tag.

It was a definite tag switch because there a bunch of Jacks right there with it! So its no big surprise. I bet I can get HD to give me a credit or something, I still have the tag and receipt.... hmmmm.

Have you seen or have a Rubromarginata up close in bloom? Is it really that unique and beautiful and worth pursuing?

Thanks again!

James

Delaware, OH