Greenhouse dreams

Buffalo, NY

Hello everyone
I'm new to DG. what a great find. Great people, Great info here. Upon my travels I stopped in a at nusery auction. I wound up buying about 400' feet of green house (hoophouse). I'm not even sure why. Just don't like to be outbid I guess (LOL). Now I'm having all these crazy dreams about starting lots of Flowers and veggie seedlings and selling them at a local farmers market. I don't have any experiance doing this other than growing for my own garden. Is this too much for a beginer to take on? Has anyone had any experiance getting into this field? Any advice is good advice. where should I begin?

TG

Brooksville, FL(Zone 9a)

TG:

Welcome, this is a wonderful learning place where you will make many new on line friends.

I don't have a lot of knowledge to share other than our garden club is about to take on a hoop greenhouse too.

The best advice (and only at this point) is to not over extend yourself. Start out small to get your feet wet and learn what does/doesn't work then increase each year. Be patient and your rewards will be great.

Janet

Buffalo, NY

Thanks Janet
That's pretty much my plan . just starting at the minimum level get some exposure and learn as much as can. then move forward with what I think I can handle.
I've been going out to the farmers markets to see what they are selling and not selling. Trying to find a niche for myself.
So far they seem pretty tight lipped about how to go about things. Maybe I just havnt talked to the right people yet. I'm glad I found DG! I found some great threads on getting started with farmers markets and nurseries here. I can't belive how helpful and pleasant people are here. Iv'e been on other gardening/growers sites where nobody like to discuss anything with newbies (LOL)
I guess the best place to start is to get and application for some of these farmer's markets and see what they require...

TG

Brooksville, FL(Zone 9a)