why is my hydrangea green and wilting in the sun?

Moorestown, NJ(Zone 6b)

We have a new moptop Hydrangea that was planted in the fall. The flowers that are blooming are mostly green with some pink. Anybody can educated us as to why this is happening, and what we can do about it?

Also, the flowers seem to wilt in the sun. Is this typical? And, when and what part of the stem should I cut the flowers to put them in a vase?

Thanks!

Thumbnail by betulo
Moorestown, NJ(Zone 6b)

More pics...

Thumbnail by betulo
Knoxville, TN

I'm not an expert on hydrangeas but I see you have no other responses yet so I will tell you what I can. I have several hydrangeas and all of my blooms start out green, then get sort of cream colored and then gradually get more and more color in them. Most hydrangeas droop in the hot sun but then perk up when they get some shade. If they stay droopy overnight, then you know they need water. Hope this helps.

Moorestown, NJ(Zone 6b)

Thank you. This is very useful.

Troy, NY(Zone 5b)

I have one in full sun that I have to water with at least 2 gallons a day when it is hot. They droop but come back very quick with water.

The ones that get am sun only don't seem to droop at all.

Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

Green blooms are common in varieties that have immature blooms early on. Think H. paniculata Limelight. These blooms will change -sunlight will speed this up- to the appropriate color (pink, blue, white) with time. Note that as blooms age throughout the summer months, they will eventually fade to other colors.

Wilting is common while the plant is being established in the garden. That means it will happen most often as temperatures get into the 90s or as summer winds cause the leaves to loose moisture faster than the roots can absorb it. Provided that the soil remains moist, wilted plant should recover on their own by nightfall or next morning. Mulch helps the soil remain moist so try to keep 3-4" of mulch at all times.