Compost not heating up

Questa, NM(Zone 5b)

Im somewhat new to composting. I couldn't find this forum because I was looking for compost under 'C', not 'S' for soil. Anyway, here's a link to my post about my compost not heating up. Could someone help me out? (view of left and middle bins)

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1001534/

Thanks!
Harper

Thumbnail by Sofonisba
Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

Based on what you wrote in the other thread it sounds like you're doing the right things. It's hard to tell from the picture, but your piles look to be on the dry side. You might try stirring the pile again and adding more water until it has the moisture consistency of a wrung-out sponge.

One other thing that I might try is combining the two piles. Unless, of course, the two piles are at vastly different stages in the compost process and you have them separated for that reason. I've read that the extra mass would help generate heat or something along those lines.

Questa, NM(Zone 5b)

You know, I thought about combining them. We've had a deluge of rain these past few weeks. So much, that It's deterred me from going out to stir (or water). Yesterday we finally had a dry day and I went out to stir. It was the first time I ever smelled an anerobic stink from the pile. I stirred and stirred. It was a lot of work and it was then that I decided not to combine the piles. I wouldn't be able to stir at all if I did.

I spoke to someone at my cooperative extension. Basically, they said I need to keep stirring and give it a few months. They said when the pile is at the ambient temperature, it's still decomposing - just with the help of worms, of which, I have TONS. Is this correct in your experience?

Thanks for responding! I thought this was a dead thread.

Harper

Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7a)